Category Archives: Reviews

Review: Return of the Living Elves by Brian Asman

Preorder it here: Author Website Synopsis: When Christmas supply warehouse manager Jimmy tries to help new employee Tommy find a last-minute gift for his girlfriend, they accidentally unleash a long-forgotten and very seasonal genetic experiment with a taste for human … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Sluts by Dennis Cooper

Buy it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Set largely on the pages of a website where gay male escorts are reviewed by their clients, and told through the postings, emails, and conversations of several dozen unreliable narrators, The Sluts chronicles the … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A Sliver of Darkness by C.J. Tudor

Pre-order Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: The debut short story collection from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man, featuring ten bone-chilling and mind-bending tales Timeslips. Doomsday scenarios. Killer butterflies. C. J. Tudor’s novels are widely acclaimed for their dark, twisty suspense … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: For readers of Leila Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors—reviewers of … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Where to Buy: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Lifestyle by Taylor Hahn

Buy it Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Don’t miss the beach read of the summer! A heartwarming and hilarious novel about swinging, marriage, and complexities of the heart. Georgina Wagman has it all—a great marriage, a great job at a prestigious … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Hide by Kiersten White

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: The challenge: spend a week hiding in an abandoned amusement park and don’t get caught. The prize: enough money to change everything. Even though everyone is desperate to win–to seize their dream futures or escape … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Upgrade by Blake Crouch

Preorder it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: “Mysterious, fascinating, and deeply moving—exploring the very nature of what it means to be human.”—ALEX MICHAELIDES, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient and The Maidens “You don’t so much sympathize with the main character as … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Just Like Mother by Anne Heltzel

Buy it Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: A girl would be such a blessing… The last time Maeve saw her cousin was the night she escaped the cult they were raised in. For the past two decades, Maeve has worked hard … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Black Tide by KC Jones

To be released May 31, 2022 Buy here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: KC Jones’ Black Tide, a character-driven science fiction/horror novel that explores what happens after a cataclysmic event leaves the world crawling with nightmares, will be published by Nightfire in … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment