Tag Archives: fiction

Review: Crossroads by Laurel Hightower

Buy it here: Off Limits Press, Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: How far would you go to bring back someone you love? When Chris’s son dies in a tragic car crash, her world is devastated. The walls of grief close in on … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Forest by Lisa Quigley

Buy Here: Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing, Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Everyone in Edgewood believes their annual tithes at the fall festival are what purchase Edgewood’s safety, but as Faye and her husband prepare to take over as town stewards—a long tradition … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A Touch of Jen by Beth Morgan

Buy it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Remy and Alicia, a couple of insecure service workers, are not particularly happy together–but they are bound by a shared obsession with Jen, a beautiful former co-worker of Remy’s who now seems to be following … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Four Minutes by Nataliya Deleva

Buy Here: Open Letter, Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Giving voice to people living on the periphery in post-communist Bulgaria, Four Minutes centers around Leah, an orphan who suffered daily horrors growing up, and now struggles to integrate into society as a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum

Buy here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning. Hausfrauhaus·frau \haus-frau\ n 1: … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Absolute Unit by Nick Kolakowski

Buy here: Crystal Lake Publishing, Amazon Synopsis: Bill is a nobody, a health inspector who’s not above taking a few dollars to overlook a restaurant’s mouse problem, and hated by nearly everyone except his long-suffering girlfriend. His nephew, Trent, isn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby

Buy at: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: A Black father. A white father. Two murdered sons. A quest for vengeance. Ike Randolph has been out of jail for fifteen years, with not so much as a speeding ticket in all that time. But a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Buy it here: Bookshop Amazon Synopsis: Fourteen-year-old Madeline lives with her parents in the beautiful, austere woods of northern Minnesota, where their nearly abandoned commune stands as a last vestige of a lost counter-culture world. Isolated at home and an … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Simantov by Asaf Ashery

Buy here: Bookshop Angry Robot website Synopsis: Women disappear from streets, clubs, and rooftops leaving the police dazed and confused. The mystical Soothsayer Task Force must use their special skills to divine the truth and solve the mystery. Detectives Simantov … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Mud Ballad by Jo Quenell

Buy it here: Weird Punk Books Synopsis: In a dying railroad town, a conjoined twin wallows in purgatory for the murder of his brother. A disgraced surgeon goes to desperate ends to reconnect with his lost love. When redemption comes … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment