Tag Archives: books

Review: A Touch of Jen by Beth Morgan

Buy it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Remy and Alicia, a couple of insecure service workers, are not particularly happy together–but they are bound by a shared obsession with Jen, a beautiful former co-worker of Remy’s who now seems to be following … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Four Minutes by Nataliya Deleva

Buy Here: Open Letter, Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Giving voice to people living on the periphery in post-communist Bulgaria, Four Minutes centers around Leah, an orphan who suffered daily horrors growing up, and now struggles to integrate into society as a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now by Andre Perry

Buy it Here: Two Dollar Radio, Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: With luminous insight and fervent prose, Andre Perry’s debut collection of personal essays, Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now, travels from Washington DC to Iowa City to Hong Kong in search … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Winter in Sokcho by Elisa Shua Dusapin

Buy here: Open Letter, Bookshop, Amazon Synopsis: As if Marguerite Duras wrote Convenience Store Woman – a beautiful, unexpected novel from a debut French Korean author It’s winter in Sokcho, a tourist town on the border between South and North Korea. The … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Vern – seven months pregnant and desperate to escape the strict religious compound where she was raised – flees for the shelter of the woods. There, she gives birth to twins, and plans to raise … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Ones Who Don’t Say They Love You by Maurice Carlos Ruffin

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: A collection of raucous stories that offer a panoramic view of New Orleans from the author of the “stunning and audacious” (NPR) debut novel We Cast a Shadow. Maurice Carlos Ruffin has an uncanny ability to … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Coffin Shadow by Glen Krisch and Mark Steensland

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: 12 YEARS AGO Janet Martlee’s infant son died under mysterious circumstances.Consumed with grief and anger, she ran away to start again… YESTERDAY A 12-year old boy with dead eyes appeared in her classroom,begging for help. … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum

Buy here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning. Hausfrauhaus·frau \haus-frau\ n 1: … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Absolute Unit by Nick Kolakowski

Buy here: Crystal Lake Publishing, Amazon Synopsis: Bill is a nobody, a health inspector who’s not above taking a few dollars to overlook a restaurant’s mouse problem, and hated by nearly everyone except his long-suffering girlfriend. His nephew, Trent, isn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby

Buy at: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: A Black father. A white father. Two murdered sons. A quest for vengeance. Ike Randolph has been out of jail for fifteen years, with not so much as a speeding ticket in all that time. But a … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment