Tag Archives: book review

Review: Little Bird by Tiffany Meuret

Buy it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: The skeletons in the closet have nothing on the one in your backyard.Freshly divorced and grieving the death of her father, Josie Lauer has caged herself inside her home. To cope with her losses, … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Return of the Living Elves by Brian Asman

Preorder it here: Author Website Synopsis: When Christmas supply warehouse manager Jimmy tries to help new employee Tommy find a last-minute gift for his girlfriend, they accidentally unleash a long-forgotten and very seasonal genetic experiment with a taste for human … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Sluts by Dennis Cooper

Buy it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Set largely on the pages of a website where gay male escorts are reviewed by their clients, and told through the postings, emails, and conversations of several dozen unreliable narrators, The Sluts chronicles the … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: A Sliver of Darkness by C.J. Tudor

Pre-order Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: The debut short story collection from the acclaimed author of The Chalk Man, featuring ten bone-chilling and mind-bending tales Timeslips. Doomsday scenarios. Killer butterflies. C. J. Tudor’s novels are widely acclaimed for their dark, twisty suspense … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: For readers of Leila Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors—reviewers of … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Where to Buy: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: The Lifestyle by Taylor Hahn

Buy it Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: Don’t miss the beach read of the summer! A heartwarming and hilarious novel about swinging, marriage, and complexities of the heart. Georgina Wagman has it all—a great marriage, a great job at a prestigious … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Hide by Kiersten White

Buy Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: The challenge: spend a week hiding in an abandoned amusement park and don’t get caught. The prize: enough money to change everything. Even though everyone is desperate to win–to seize their dream futures or escape … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Upgrade by Blake Crouch

Preorder it here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: “Mysterious, fascinating, and deeply moving—exploring the very nature of what it means to be human.”—ALEX MICHAELIDES, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient and The Maidens “You don’t so much sympathize with the main character as … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Review: Just Like Mother by Anne Heltzel

Buy it Here: Amazon, Bookshop Synopsis: A girl would be such a blessing… The last time Maeve saw her cousin was the night she escaped the cult they were raised in. For the past two decades, Maeve has worked hard … Continue reading

Posted in fiction, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment